Water Services Reform

Search waterservicesreform.govt.nz

Establishment Board for Northland and Auckland water services entity appointed

The membership of the establishment board that will oversee the set-up of the Northland and Auckland water services entity has been confirmed by Cabinet.

The Establishment Board will provide governance and oversight to the entity, ahead of its establishment on 1 July 2024. 

The establishment board will oversee the change required and ensure a smooth transition to the new entity.

This includes overseeing activities such as developing an organisational design for the new entity and preparing for the establishment of new organisational structures, policies and procedures, which ensure water services continue to be effectively delivered to consumers through the transition period.

Board members have a diverse mix of skills and experience, including in key areas such as governance, water services delivery and infrastructure, financial management, asset management, and te ao Māori and Te Tiriti o Waitangi.

All of the members bring a commitment to collaboration and ensuring a seamless transition to ensure benefits are delivered for all communities across Auckland, Whangārei, Kaipara and the Far North.

The Northland and Auckland Establishment Board members are:

  • Murray Bain ONZM (Chair)
  • Hinerangi Raumati Tu’ua MNZM (Ngāti Mutunga, Waikato) 
  • Brendon Green (Ngāti Hikairo, Waikato Tainui, Ngāpuhi)

The Establishment Board will be responsible to, and report to the Minister of Local Government.

These are short-term appointments, with members appointed from 1 August 2023 to 30 June 2024.

The Establishment Board is a critical step towards creating the entity. Work is also underway to develop the Entity’s constitution, which will set out the composition and procedures for the appointment of the Regional Representative Group (RRG) and any regional advisory panels.

Once the constitution is set, the entity’s RRG will be appointed to provide regional and local level direction and oversight. Once the entity is operational and its RRG has been set up, the RRG (via the Board Appointment Committee) will be responsible for appointing the ‘enduring’ entity board.

Northland and Auckland Water Services Entity Establishment Board member biographies:

Murray Bain ONZM (Chair)

Murray Bain has significant board experience across a range of private, not-for-profit and government organisations, including Chair of the Open Polytechnic, Deputy Chair NorthTec, Deputy Chair of TSB Bank, Chair of TAS and of Top Energy and as a board member of Powerco. 

He has previously held roles as the Chief Executive Officer of the Ministry of Science and Innovation, Assistant Governor in the Reserve Bank of New Zealand, Chief Operating Officer with ACC and Head of Banking for Trust Bank NZ.

Hinerangi Raumati-Tu’ua MNZM

Hinerangi Raumati-Tu’ua (Ngāti Mutunga, Waikato) is a Fellow Chartered Accountant with significant experience in investments, financial management and governance. Hinerangi’s focus has been on Māori economic development particularly in Māori commercial entities, including post settlement entities. She is currently the Chair of Tainui Group Holdings and she also holds director roles at the Reserve Bank of New Zealand, Genesis Energy, Ngāti Mutunga and Taranaki iwi commercial entities, and Te Whakakitenga o Waikato executive committee.

She has previously held governance roles in a range of entities, including Watercare Ltd, Moana NZ (as Chair), Parininihi ki Waitotara Inc. (as Chair), Sealord Group Limited, Venture Taranaki Trust, Port Nicholson Fisheries Limited, Auckland Council Investments Limited, Te Kiwai Maui Ltd, the commercial entity of Ngaruahine Iwi (as Chair), Public Trust and Waikato Community Trust.

Brendon Green

Brendon Green (Ngāti Hikairo, Waikato Tainui, Ngāpuhi) is an experienced director and executive leader with extensive experience in New Zealand and offshore primarily in resource development for power stations, forestry, minerals, oil and gas exploration, water and dairy sectors. He currently holds roles on the Board of the Tainui Kawhia Incorporation and the rūnanga of the Manukau Institute of Technology, and is a director on Scion, Co-Chair of the Waikato Regional Skills Leadership Group and a Council member of Waihanga Ara Rau (Construction & Infrastructure Workforce Development Council).

He was previously on the board of Watercare Ltd, where he was the Chair of its Committee for Climate Action and a member of their Audit and Risk Committee, and he previously held the Maangai Māori role for the Waikato District Council’s Infrastructure Committee.